Radiation Copy

Section Progress
0% Complete

There are three main types of nuclear radiation emitted from radioactive atoms:

  • Alpha
  • Beta
  • Gamma

Alpha and beta radiation consist of actual particles that are electrically charged and are commonly referred to as alpha particles and beta particles. Gamma radiation, however, belongs to a class known as electromagnetic radiation. Electromagnetic radiation consists of energy transmitted in the form of waves.

Figure 2-4
Types of Electromagnetic Radiation
Source: FEMA